Events & Activities

Next Event/Activity

Friday 7 February at 7:00 PM
LECTURE at the Lancashire Record Office: J H Spencer, Preston's greatest book collector

An illustrated evening talk by Dr Cynthia Johnston of the Institute of English Studies, University of London, with buffet supper and glass of wine , £12

 

Preston’s greatest book collector, John Henry Spencer, fell in love with books at an early age. Although the circumstances of his family were desperate, Spencer pursued his love of learning and books with an astonishing passion throughout his life. His great gifts to Preston were his collections of children’s books and chap books to the Harris Museum, just before his death in 1952. These are amongst the ‘hidden collections’ of the Harris to be featured in an exhibition sponsored by the Paul Mellon Foundation at Blackburn Museum from Friday 31st January 2020.

PLEASE NOTE: This talk is at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston

Payment of £12 pp may be completed by BACS using this online form. Please complete one form per person.
However single BACS payments can be made for multiple bookings. Use your surname and postcode as the reference so your payment can be identified.

To pay by cheque or in person, see www.flarchives.co.uk
Sorry, no payments can be accepted on the door, but should be made in advance.

Forthcoming Events/Actitivites

Friday 7 February at 7:00 PM

An illustrated evening talk by Dr Cynthia Johnston of the Institute of English Studies, University of London, with buffet supper and glass of wine , £12

Thursday 13 February at 2:00 PM

500 years of Lancashire & its dialect by Sid Calderbank.

Saturday 22 February at 10:00 AM

10 am - 12 noon at Valerie and Jeff Miles's,

Thursday 12 March at 2:00 PM

A talk by Jamie Holman

Thursday 9 April at 2:00 PM

A talk by Jeff Cooper and Valerie Miles

Thursday 14 May at 2:00 PM

by Tony Foster

Thursday 11 June at 2:00 PM

A member of Museum staff will describe some lesser known aspects of their work.

Saturday 13 June at 2:00 PM

Speaker and subject to be announced.

Sunday 28 June at 2:00 PM

Sunday, 28th June, 2.00 - 4.00 pm:

Next page: Who We Are 
Previous page: Home